Scotie Selman

Job Title: Director of Emergency Management and Safety Services


Staff Bio:

Tell us what brought you to UNT and what you do here: 
I was contacted about an exciting opportunity to be part of revamping and managing the university’s emergency management and safety services program and setting up the new emergency operations center. I have had the opportunity to build several new programs/departments from the ground up and thoroughly enjoyed doing so. Having worked at UNT before I was familiar with the dynamic environment that a university setting provides and this was appealing to me. Although I wasn’t looking to change employment at the time I was thrilled at the prospect of returning to UNT! I currently serve as the Director of Emergency Management and Safety Services and it is my privilege to support a very committed and talented team responsible for managing and administering the university’s Emergency Preparedness, Continuity of Operations, Fire and Life Safety and International Risk programs.

What do you enjoy most about working at UNT?
It is without a doubt the people that make up our campus community. To be able to partner with and support our faculty, staff and students in providing a safe and secure campus and to have a role in promoting an environment that supports the well-being and success of every member of our community is very satisfying. The diversity of operations, activities and people at UNT provides a unique experience when compared to most workplaces. I enjoy the opportunity to work with so many different people and to get involved with the many events, activities and operations that take place on our campus. I was a non-traditional student at UNT and did not have the full college experience. Working here has enabled me to have those experiences to some extent. I am truly thankful to be part of the Mean Green family!

What are your favorite hobbies? 
There are so many I can’t list them all. Beekeeping (I’m a novice but they’re still alive), home brewing (it is drinkable), firing up my smoker and feeding family and friends (never have left-overs), playing my guitar (just a chord strummer) running (especially trail and mud runs), golfing (I’m terrible), fishing, hiking, kayaking, traveling, watching and cheering for our Mean Green sports teams and the list goes on. I also have a little grandson so I guess my very favorite hobby is spoiling him and aggravating my daughter by letting him do everything she does not. I basically like to dabble in anything that ultimately enables me to avoid doing chores around the house; much to my wife’s displeasure.

What is one life experience you have had that no one at work knows about? 
I inherited a love for story telling from my grandfather so I seriously doubt I can come up with a life experience that I haven’t already shared with someone. One of the more interesting work-related experiences I had was when I represented my company and participated in two international business development programs; one in China (Beijing and Shanghai) and one in the United Arab Emirates (Abu Dhabi and Dubai). The purpose of the program was to meet with distributer and dealers in these countries and surrounding regions to promote our brand and explore business expansion opportunities. It was a great work experience and I learned a lot as to international business practices and the way culture influences how business is done. It was not only a work experience but a true life experience. I had the opportunity to visit these countries in a way that went beyond what a typical tourist would experience. I will never forget the great times I had meeting the families of my international colleagues, going to the little hole-in-the-wall restaurants and hang-outs known only to the locals and just getting to know people in their day to day lives apart from the tourist scene.

Where did you grow up and where else have you lived?
I was born in Mansfield, Texas and grew up in Rendon just south of Fort Worth. I also lived and went to high school briefly in upstate New York and lived for 5 years in Idaho.